Peter Straub is the author of seventeen novels, which have been translated into more than twenty languages. These include: Julia (Coward, McCann & Geoghegan, 1975); If You Could See Me Now (Coward, McCann & Geoghegan, 1977); Ghost Story (Coward, McCann & Geoghegan, 1979); Shadowland (Coward, McCann & Geoghegan, 1980; World Fantasy nominee); Floating Dragon (Putnam, 1982; August Derleth Award winner); Koko (Dutton, 1988; World Fantasy Award winner); Mystery (Dutton, 1990; Bram Stoker Award winner and World Fantasy Award nominee); and The Throat (Dutton, 1993; Bram Stoker Award winner, World Fantasy Award nominee); the last three novels are collectively known as The Blue Rose Trilogy.

His other novels include The Hellfire Club (Random House, 1996; Bram Stoker Award winner and August Derleth Award nominee); Mr. X (Random House, 1999; Bram Stoker Award winner and August Derleth Award nominee); Lost Boy, Lost Girl (Random House, 2003; Bram Stoker Award winner and August Derleth Award nominee); In the Night Room (Random House, 2004; Bram Stoker Award winner); A Dark Matter (Doubleday, 2010; Bram Stoker Award winner), His two collaborations with Stephen King are The Talisman (Viking, 1984; winner of the World Fantasy Award and Locus Award) and Black House (Random House, 2001; Stoker Award nomin

He has written two volumes of poetry, Open Air (Irish University Press, 1972), and Leeson Park and Belsize Square (Underwood-Miller, 1983), and four collections of short fiction, including Houses Without Doors (Signet, 1991), Magic Terror (Random House, 2000), 5 Stories (Borderlands Press, 2008; Bram Stoker Award winner), and The Juniper Tree and Other Blue Rose Stories (Subterranean, 2010).

Some of his novellas include Mrs. God (Pegasus, 2013), Pork Pie Hat (Cemetery Dance, 2010), A Special Place: The Heart of A Dark Matter (Pegasus, 2010), The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine (Subterranean, 2012; Bram Stoker Award winner), The Buffalo Hunter (Cemetery Dance, 2012), and The Process (Is a Process All Its Own) (Subterranean, 2017).

For the Library of America, he has edited H.P. Lovecraft's Tales (2005) and the two-volume anthology American Fantastic Tales (2009/10). He has won the British Fantasy Award, ten Bram Stoker Awards, two International Horror Guild Awards, and four World Fantasy Awards. In 1998, he was named Grand Master at the World Horror Convention. In 2006, he was given the Life Achievement Award by the Horror Writers Association. In 2008, he was given the Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award by Poets & Writers. At the 2010 World Fantasy Convention, he was given the Life Achievement Award. In 2011, Columbia University’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences presented him the Dean's Award for Distinguished Achievement.