Readercon 28

Guests of Honor

Naomi Novik

Naomi Novik

Naomi Novik formerly worked on the computer game Neverwinter Nights: Shadows of Undrentide and was one of the founding board members of the Organization for Transformative Works, a nonprofit dedicated to protecting the fair-use rights of fan creators, but she is best known as a novelist and short story writer. She has published ten novels in her “Temeraire” series about dragons and war in the Napoleonic era, and has won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel, and the Locus Award for Best First Novel. The fourth volume of the “Temeraire” series, Empire of Ivory (2007), was a New York Times bestseller, as were the sixth and seventh volumes, Victory of Eagles and Tongues of Serpents. Her graphic novel, Will Supervillains Be on the Final? (2011), was praised by Publishers Weekly, and her young adult novel, Uprooted, won the Nebula Award and was a finalist for the Hugo Award. Join us as we welcome her to Readercon and celebrate her work.
Photo by Beth Gwinn


Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedi Okorafor

Born in the United States to Nigerian immigrant parents, Nnedi Okorafor is currently a Professor of Creative Writing and Literature at the University of Buffalo. She is better known to her many fans as the author of six novels, a chapbook, a novella, and a collection of short stories. Her work combines traditional science fictional tropes with African story-modes and cultural narratives to splendid effect. Among the awards she has been nominated or won are the Wole Soyinka Prize for African Literature for Zahrah the Windseeker (2005), the CBS Parallax Award for The Shadow Speaker (2007), the World Fantasy Award and Le Prix Imaginales for Who Fears Death (2010), the British Science Fiction Association Best Novel award for Lagoon (2014), and the Nebula Award and the Hugo Award for the novella Binti (2016). We are thrilled to welcome her to Readercon and to celebrate her work.
Photo by Anyaugo Okorafor-Mbachu


Tanith Lee

Tanith Lee

Tanith Lee (1947-2015) was a supremely talented writer who worked in numerous genres and forms. She wrote children’s novels (The Dragon Hoard (1971)), Vancian fantasy (the five novel “Tales from the Flat Earth” series), historical romance (The Gods Are Thirsty (1996)), fantasy/horror (The Book of the Damned (1988)), science fiction (the four novel “Birthgrave” series), thriller/horror (the three novel “Blood Opera” series), far-future science fiction (the two novel “Drinking Sapphire Wine” series), and more: erotica, Gothic romance, straightforward horror–many were the genres of fantastika that Lee wrote in, and wrote well.

Lee was clever, manipulating genre tropes and cliches in skillful and unusual ways. Lee was poetic, writing of everything from sex to childhood in lyrical fashion. And she was prolific, writing over one hundred novels and collections. She was twice nominated for the Nebula Award, ten times for the World Fantasy (winning twice), and six times for the British Fantasy Award (winning once), and was given the Grand Master Award from at the World Horror Convention in 2009 and the Life Achievement Award at the World Fantasy Convention in 2013. As critic John Clute wrote, “Lee encompassed every genre of the fantastic...with supple attentiveness and an ongoing exuberance of invention which transcends...genre constraints.”

Program Participants

The following guests are scheduled to attend Readercon 28.

Click on Book icon to see the guest's bio-bibliography. * indicates former Guest of Honor.

Bio-bibliography Gorinsky, Liz

Bio-bibliography Grant, Glenn

Bio-bibliography Greene, Tom

Bio-bibliography Gregory, Daryl

Bio-bibliography Hand, Elizabeth *

Bio-bibliography Haringa, Jack

Bio-bibliography Headley, Maria Dahvana

Bio-bibliography Hecht, Jeff

Bio-bibliography Heuler, Karen

Bio-bibliography Horn, J.D.

Bio-bibliography Howard, Kat

Bio-bibliography Huff, Crystal

Bio-bibliography Isaak, Elaine

Bio-bibliography Jablokov, Alexander

Bio-bibliography Janssen, Victoria

Bio-bibliography Jasper, Josh

Bio-bibliography Jennings, Kathleen

Bio-bibliography Kasturi, Sandra

Bio-bibliography Kaufmann, Nicholas

Bio-bibliography Kelly, James Patrick *

Bio-bibliography Kendall, Mikki

Bio-bibliography Kessel, John

Bio-bibliography Killheffer, Robert

Bio-bibliography Kim, Lorrie

Bio-bibliography Kingsgrave, Catt

Bio-bibliography Kirstein, Rosemary

Bio-bibliography Klang Smith, Chandler

Bio-bibliography Krasnoff, Barbara

Bio-bibliography Kressel, Matthew

Bio-bibliography Krzywicki, Sioban

Bio-bibliography Langan, John

Bio-bibliography Lee, Yoon Ha

Bio-bibliography Levinson, Paul

Bio-bibliography Leib, Bart

Bio-bibliography Lewitt, Shariann

Bio-bibliography Lingen, Marissa

Bio-bibliography Little Badger, Darcie

Bio-bibliography Luhrs, Natalie

Bio-bibliography Martin, B. Diane

Bio-bibliography Matthews, Susan

Bio-bibliography McAuley, Paul

Bio-bibliography McNamara, Alena

Bio-bibliography Miller, Heath

Bio-bibliography Monahan, Hillary

Bio-bibliography Moraine, Sunny

Bio-bibliography Morrow, James *

Bio-bibliography Morrow, Kathryn Smith

Bio-bibliography Nepveu, Kate

Bio-bibliography Nevins, Jess

Bio-bibliography Newman, Miriam

Bio-bibliography Nevins, Jess